SAC Webinar: Culturally Responsive Practices for S-LPs Working with Trans*/GNC Patients, Clients & Students Across Settings

Presenter: 
AC Goldberg (he/him) PhD, CCC-SLP
Date: 
December 7 2021
Category: 
General Knowledge
SAC Event: 
CEE Eligible: 
Yes
Price: 
Free
PD Hub Category: 
Webinars

Click here to register

Registration deadline is December 7, 2021 - 2:30 p.m. (ET)

December 7, 2021 – 3:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. (ET)

Time Zone Time
Pacific Time 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Mountain Time 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.
Central Time 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Eastern Time 3:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Atlantic Time 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Newfoundland Time 4:30 p.m. – 5:30 p.m.

 

Fees

SAC Members and Associates

Free*

*All registered participants must be SAC members/associates

 

===============================

Cancellation Policy: Because we have limited spaces available for participants, if you are unable to attend the webinar you registered for, please contact Bev Cooper at bev@sac-oac.ca as soon as possible.

===============================

 

Intended audience: Speech-language pathologists, audiologists, speech and hearing assistant, speech-language pathology assistant, audiology assistant, students

This session pertains to: Pre-School (0-4), School Aged (5-17), Adult (18-64)

Level: Introductory (Assumes that the participant has little or no familiarity with the literature and professional practice within the areas covered.) 

 

Abstract

There is a vital need for communication sciences and disorders professionals to be culturally responsive to the needs of TGNC children, adults and their families in hospitals, clinics and K-12 schools. This presentation will provide participants with critical knowledge and practical tools they can implement to provide inclusive services to gender diverse people of all ages and their caregivers, among them: gender inclusive assessment practices, IEP meeting protocols, overview of inclusive AAC, recommendations on the development of fully inclusive language and intervention materials, inclusive intake forms, creating safe spaces institutionally as well as advice regarding telepractice service delivery models.
 

After completion of this program, participants will be able to:

  1. Familiarize themselves with resources, and federal guidelines on inclusion and service provision to gender diverse populations.
  2. Evaluate their current practice policies and processes for inclusivity of gender diverse populations using provided guidelines.
  3. Implement both technical and clinical recommendations for successfully serving people who are within the broader rainbow community.
  4. Develop practices that create safe spaces for 2SLGBTQI+ patients, clients, students and their caregivers.

 

This webinar is eligible for SAC CEEs (Category O).

 

Presenter Biography

AC Goldberg (he/him) PhD, CCC-SLP

AC Goldberg is a physically disabled, intersex/transgender speech-language pathologist licensed in the US and Canada. For the past 17 years, AC has worked with children, adolescents and adults with complex neurological profiles. In addition, he has experience with gender voice modification, for individuals of all genders and gender presentations. AC is ASHA certified, SAC affiliated, registered with CASLPO, and a member of the WPATH. AC's public speaking career began in 2012. He is dedicated to ending the mistreatment and discrimination that transgender/gender nonconforming people face in educational, medical and clinical settings. He offers cultural responsiveness, safe space and active allyship trainings for all healthcare professionals, youth workers and educators through his intersectional continuing education platform, Transplaining. AC has lectured in over 300 institutions to date, including hospitals, schools, universities, clinics, camps and corporations.

 

Accessing the Webinar

Zoom is used to host this webinar. Before joining, be sure to check system requirements to avoid any connection issues.

Note about internet: We suggest you DO NOT use a Wi-Fi connection to view the webinar as it can be unreliable and you may lose connectivity during the presentation.

 

Access to SAC webinars, general knowledge webinars and webcasts are an exclusive benefit of SAC membership. Links to online SAC Professional Development opportunities are not to be shared with non-members/non-associates. SAC reserves the right to terminate participation of a non-member/associate in any SAC online Professional Development event.
 
Non-members or non-associates must join SAC in order to have access to SAC online professional development. Information on joining SAC can be found on our website at
 https://www.sac-oac.ca/membership-certification/become-member-0.