2021 SAC Audiology Event Webinar Series: Sustainable Hearing Care for Underserved Communities

Presenter: 
Audra Renyi
Date: 
May 19 2021
Category: 
Audiology
SAC Event: 
CEE Eligible: 
Yes
Price: 
Free
PD Hub Category: 
Webinars

Click here to register

Registration deadline is May 19, 2021 - 12:30 p.m. (ET)

May 19, 2021 – 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. (ET)

Time Zone Time
Pacific Time 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.
Mountain Time 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Central Time 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Eastern Time 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.
Atlantic Time 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Newfoundland Time 2:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

 

Fees

SAC Members and Associates

Free*

*All registered participants must be SAC members/associates

 

===============================

Cancellation Policy: Because we have limited spaces available for participants, if you are unable to attend the webinar you registered for, please contact Bev Cooper at bev@sac-oac.ca as soon as possible.

===============================

 

Abstract

The WHO estimates that 466 million people have disabling hearing loss and of these, 34 million are children. In countries like Guatemala, there is only one audiologist; in Honduras, there are none. Inequitable access to hearing care presents a critical challenge that must be urgently addressed through capacity-building and empowerment of communities to create locally-owned hearing care solutions.

 

This webinar is eligible for SAC CEEs (Category A).

 

Presenter Biography

Audra Renyi

Audra Renyi is the Executive Director of the non-profit World Wide Hearing Foundation International and the founder of earAccess, a for-profit social enterprise. She has worked as an investment banker on Wall Street dealing with private equity firms. Ms. Renyi has also worked with Doctors Without Borders, in Chad, served as the CFO of the One Acre Fund in Rwanda, worked as a business consultant in microfinance in Kenya and as director of development at Canada World Youth in Montreal. Ms. Renyi holds bachelor’s degrees in economics (Wharton School) and international studies from the University of Pennsylvania, and has completed an executive leadership program at Harvard Business School. She is a winner of the 2017 Governor General’s Innovation Award, the 2020 CANIE Woman Entrepreneur of Canada award and was named a Heroine of Health at the WHO World Health Assembly.

 

About World Wide Hearing

Founded in 2011, World Wide Hearing Foundation International (“World Wide Hearing”) is a global non-profit organization headquartered in Montreal, Canada. As of 2021, World Wide Hearing has been able to serve directly over 130,000 people, mainly children across 7 countries. World Wide Hearing currently has active programs in Guatemala, Peru, the Philippines, Zimbabwe and Indigenous communities in Canada. In the past it has had projects in Kenya, Jordan and Vietnam. In 2015 and 2017, World Wide Hearing won the Google Impact Disability Challenge and the Google Canada Impact Challenge to create mobile technologies to increase access to hearing care.
ions.

 

Accessing the Webinar

Zoom is used to host this webinar. Before joining, be sure to check system requirements to avoid any connection issues.

Note about internet: We suggest you DO NOT use a Wi-Fi connection to view the webinar as it can be unreliable and you may lose connectivity during the presentation.

 

Access to SAC webinars, Lunch & Learns and webcasts are an exclusive benefit of SAC membership. Links to online SAC Professional Development opportunities are not to be shared with non-members/non-associates. SAC reserves the right to terminate participation of a non-member/associate in any SAC online Professional Development event.
 
Non-members or non-associates must join SAC in order to have access to SAC online professional development. Information on joining SAC can be found on our website at
 https://www.sac-oac.ca/membership-certification/become-member-0.