2021 SAC Audiology Event Webinar Series: International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health (ICF): What it Is and How It Can Be Used in Clinical Practice and in Research

Presenter: 
Sarah Granberg, PhD, Registered Audiologist
Date: 
May 25 2021
Category: 
Audiology
SAC Event: 
CEE Eligible: 
Yes
Price: 
Free
PD Hub Category: 
Webinars

Click here to register

Registration deadline is May 25, 2021 - 1:30 p.m. (ET)

May 25, 2021 – 2:00 p.m. - 3:15 p.m. (ET)

Time Zone Time
Pacific Time 11:00 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.
Mountain Time 12:00 p.m. – 1:15 p.m.
Central Time 1:00 p.m. – 2:15 p.m.
Eastern Time 2:00 p.m. – 3:15 p.m.
Atlantic Time 3:00 p.m. – 4:15 p.m.
Newfoundland Time 3:30 p.m. – 4:45 p.m.

 

Fees

SAC Members and Associates

Free*

*All registered participants must be SAC members/associates

 

===============================

Cancellation Policy: Because we have limited spaces available for participants, if you are unable to attend the webinar you registered for, please contact Bev Cooper at bev@sac-oac.ca as soon as possible.

===============================

 

Abstract

This lecture will focus on the International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health (ICF) which was endorsed by the WHO in 2001. The ICF is a conceptual model and a classification system for health issues including impairment, activity, participation and environmental and personal contextual factors as components of functioning. It can be used in both clinical practice and in research. Interest in the ICF has emerged during the last decade and it is now viewed as an essential part of a person-centered approach to audiological rehabilitation. This lecture will highlight how the ICF can be used in clinical practice and in research, and how different types of health data can be interpreted from an ICF perspective for planning and evaluating rehabilitation. Examples from different research projects in relation to the ICF will be presented and discussed. No previous knowledge of the ICF is required.
 

Learning objectives: 

• Basic knowledge of the ICF conceptual model and classification
• How to merge (link) different types of data to the ICF classification
• How to incorporate ICF in clinical practice


 

This webinar is eligible for SAC CEEs (Category A).

 

Presenter Biography

Sarah Granberg, PhD, Registered Audiologist

Sarah Granberg works as an assistive professor in audiology at the School of Health Sciences at Örebro University in Örebro, Sweden. Her research and teaching focus largely on person-centered audiological rehabilitation, especially in relation to the International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health (ICF). She has published several scientific papers on ICF and audiology, and is frequently engaged by researchers worldwide to help interpret health-related clinical and/or research data from an ICF perspective.

 

Accessing the Webinar

Zoom is used to host this webinar. Before joining, be sure to check system requirements to avoid any connection issues.

Note about internet: We suggest you DO NOT use a Wi-Fi connection to view the webinar as it can be unreliable and you may lose connectivity during the presentation.

 

Access to SAC webinars, Lunch & Learns and webcasts are an exclusive benefit of SAC membership. Links to online SAC Professional Development opportunities are not to be shared with non-members/non-associates. SAC reserves the right to terminate participation of a non-member/associate in any SAC online Professional Development event.
 
Non-members or non-associates must join SAC in order to have access to SAC online professional development. Information on joining SAC can be found on our website at
 https://www.sac-oac.ca/membership-certification/become-member-0.