2021 SAC Audiology Event Webinar Series: Hearing Healthcare for Adults – Challenges, Opportunities and a Possible Way Forward

Presenter: 
Catherine McMahon, PhD, Grad Dip Aud, Grad Dip Higher Ed
Date: 
May 6 2021
Category: 
Audiology
SAC Event: 
CEE Eligible: 
Yes
Price: 
Free
PD Hub Category: 
Webinars

Click here to register

Registration deadline is May 6, 2021 - 4:30 p.m. (ET)

May 6, 2021 – 5:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. (ET)

Time Zone Time
Pacific Time 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Mountain Time 3:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Central Time 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Eastern Time 5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Atlantic Time 6:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.
Newfoundland Time 6:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

 

Fees


SAC Members and Associates

Non-SAC Members and Associates 

Free

 


$336 (CDN) for the entire series*

To register, please click here

 

* The registration fee includes SAC membership for the remainder of 2021. This membership will provide access to our full suite of SAC Professional Development live webinars and recorded webcasts, including the recorded Audiology Event series. The SAC webcast library has over 175 recorded webcasts. Following The Audiology Event, an additional nine live webinars are scheduled to occur for the remainder of the year (until December 2021).

 

Abstract

On March 3, 2021, the World Health Organization (WHO) launched the World Report on Hearing – an opportunity for civil society to globally unite to advocate for “hearing care for all.” Hearing is critical across the lifespan – a necessary part of normal childhood development, productivity and retention in the workplace, and successful aging. The recent Lancet Commission for Dementia demonstrates that hearing loss in mid-life is the single biggest potentially modifiable risk factor associated with dementia in later life (Livingstone et al., 2020). Nonetheless, hearing loss is often overlooked within primary health and is lacking or given a low priority in policy and public health agendas.

While universal newborn hearing screening programs have been implemented in many settings, adult hearing health remains poorly addressed globally. Despite evidence that early and effective intervention is necessary to achieve lifelong hearing health, a universal and globally implementable solution for adults has not yet been developed. This presentation will discuss the results of an Expert Delphi study that informed the development of WHO guidance for developing adult hearing screening programs.  
 

Learning objectives:

• Understand the effects of hearing loss in older adults’ mental and physical health and general well-being.
• Recognise key barriers and enablers to accessing hearing healthcare for older adults.
• Understand the recommended criteria for establishing a hearing healthcare program from international experts in hearing health.

 

 

This webinar is eligible for SAC CEEs (Category A).

 

Presenter Biography

Catherine McMahon, PhD, Grad Dip Aud, Grad Dip Higher Ed

Professor McMahon is the Director of Audiology at Macquarie University and Director of the H:EAR (Hearing, Education, Application, Research) Centre, a World Hearing Forum member and an informal WHO collaborating centre. Her research focuses on understanding the barriers and facilitators to accessing and utilising hearing healthcare, as well as the design and implementation of effective care pathways. Catherine has worked closely with the World Health Organisation to develop and collate the evidence-base for the World Report on Hearing, and is a Commissioner on the Lancet Commission of Hearing Loss and chairs the “Innovation in Service Delivery” team.

 

Accessing the Webinar

Zoom is used to host this webinar. Before joining, be sure to check system requirements to avoid any connection issues.

Note about internet: We suggest you DO NOT use a Wi-Fi connection to view the webinar as it can be unreliable and you may lose connectivity during the presentation.