2021 SAC Audiology Event Webinar Series: Hearables and In-Ear Technologies Roadmap Unveiled: Can We End Noise-Induced Hearing Loss in Workers?

Presenter: 
Jérémie Voix, MS, M.A.Sc, PhD, P. Eng.
Date: 
May 11 2021
Category: 
Audiology
SAC Event: 
CEE Eligible: 
Yes
Price: 
Free
PD Hub Category: 
Webinars

Click here to register

Registration deadline is May 11, 2021 - 10:30 a.m. (ET)

May 11, 2021 – 11:00 a.m. - 12:15 p.m. (ET)

Time Zone Time
Pacific Time 8:00 a.m. – 9:15 a.m.
Mountain Time 9:00 a.m. – 10:15 a.m.
Central Time 10:00 a.m. – 11:15 a.m.
Eastern Time 11:00 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.
Atlantic Time 12:00 p.m. – 1:15 p.m.
Newfoundland Time 12:30 p.m. – 1:45 p.m.

 

Fees

SAC Members and Associates

Free*

*All registered participants must be SAC members/associates

 

===============================

Cancellation Policy: Because we have limited spaces available for participants, if you are unable to attend the webinar you registered for, please contact Bev Cooper at bev@sac-oac.ca as soon as possible.

===============================

 

Abstract

At this age of Internet of Things (IoT), wearables are now everywhere, eventually now reaching our ear canals. The research team from the “NSERC-EERS Industrial Research Chair in In-Ear Technologies (CRITIAS)” led by Professor Jérémie Voix has been actively developing various in-ear technologies designed to complement the human ear: from “smart” hearing protection against industrial noise, to advanced communication systems, to hearing health monitoring devices using otoacoustic emission to in-ear Brain Computer Interface. In addition, more fundamental research has been conducted, namely, the micro-harvesting of electrical energy from inside the ear canal to power future auditory wearables. Recent research and developments, from CRITIAS and labs around the world, will be presented to the Speech-Language & Audiology Canada community and may encourage a different view on the human ear and modern hearing protection!
 

Learning Objectives:

• Identify the available types of hearing protection devices and describe their respective advantages and disadvantages.
• Explain the benefits of digital hearing protectors and evaluate the pros and cons of the various possible features for workers.
• Enumerate the various in-ear functionalities currently being developed and assess their impact in the field of audiology.


 

This webinar is eligible for SAC CEEs (Category A).

 

Presenter Biography

Jérémie Voix, MS, M.A.Sc, PhD, P. Eng.

Professor Jérémie Voix is an acoustics specialist with over 20 years of experience in workplace noise control. He has authored or co-authored over 100 scientific publications as well as over a dozen patents and contributed significantly to several American (ANSI S12/WG11), Canadian (CS Z94) and ISO (TC43/WG17) standards. As a hearing protection expert, he is regularly invited to contribute to the organization of international conferences and to review articles and theses. Professor Voix is President of the Canadian Acoustical Association (CAA), as well as Associate Director (Scientific and Technological Research) at the Centre for Interdisciplinary Research in Music Media and Technology (CIRMMT), housed at McGill University’s Schulich School of Music where he is also an Adjunct Professor. He has been awarded several prizes and distinctions in recent years, including the Excellence Award in 2017 from Quebec's professional engineer order and in 2019 the Early Career Award from the International Commission on Acoustics.

 

Accessing the Webinar

Zoom is used to host this webinar. Before joining, be sure to check system requirements to avoid any connection issues.

Note about internet: We suggest you DO NOT use a Wi-Fi connection to view the webinar as it can be unreliable and you may lose connectivity during the presentation.

 

Access to SAC webinars, Lunch & Learns and webcasts are an exclusive benefit of SAC membership. Links to online SAC Professional Development opportunities are not to be shared with non-members/non-associates. SAC reserves the right to terminate participation of a non-member/associate in any SAC online Professional Development event.
 
Non-members or non-associates must join SAC in order to have access to SAC online professional development. Information on joining SAC can be found on our website at
 https://www.sac-oac.ca/membership-certification/become-member-0.