2021 SAC Audiology Event Webinar Series: Culturally Safe Health Care in an Era of COVID-19

Presenter: 
Carrie Bourassa, B.A., M.A., PhD
Date: 
May 19 2021
Category: 
Audiology
SAC Event: 
CEE Eligible: 
Yes
Price: 
Free
PD Hub Category: 
Webinars

Click here to register

Registration deadline is May 19, 2021 - 10:30 a.m. (ET)

May 19, 2021 – 11:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. (ET)

Time Zone Time
Pacific Time 8:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m.
Mountain Time 9:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.
Central Time 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.
Eastern Time 11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
Atlantic Time 12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.
Newfoundland Time 12:30 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.

 

Fees

SAC Members and Associates

Free*

*All registered participants must be SAC members/associates

 

===============================

Cancellation Policy: Because we have limited spaces available for participants, if you are unable to attend the webinar you registered for, please contact Bev Cooper at bev@sac-oac.ca as soon as possible.

===============================

 

Abstract

Dr. Carrie Bourassa is the Nominated Principal Investigator of Morning Star Lodge, an Indigenous Health Research Lab committed to creating supportive environments through engaging in healthy, reciprocal and respectful relationships with Indigenous Communities. She will touch on the individual level and the broader picture of population health in an era of COVID-19, Indigenous resiliency, the significance of cultural continuity and the opportunities for growth and betterment of healthcare providers serving Indigenous Peoples. Setting the stage to understand cultural safety, Dr. Bourassa expands upon the greater contextual influences that affect Indigenous Peoples health. Along with providing context, practical recommendations will be made on how to better serve and care for Indigenous Peoples living in Canada, especially in times of COVID-19. 
 

Learning Objectives:

After this presentation, the learner will be able to:

• Understand colonial impacts
• Comprehend Indigenous resiliency
• Understand cultural safety and situating one’s self
• Provide practical suggestions for practitioners to improve equitable access and healthcare

 


This webinar is eligible for SAC CEEs (Category A).

 

Presenter Biography

Dr. Carrie Bourassa, B.A., M.A., PhD

Dr. Carrie Bourassa is the Scientific Director of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research – Institute of Indigenous Peoples’ Health (CIHR-IIPH) and a Professor, Community Health & Epidemiology, University of Saskatchewan. She is the Principal Investigator for the Canada Foundation for Innovation funded Morning Star Lodge as well as the Cultural Safety, Evaluation, Training and Research lab. Dr. Bourassa has nearly 20 years’ experience as a professor in the field of Indigenous health studies. Through her role as Scientific Director of IIPH, she leads the advancement of a national health research agenda to improve and promote the health of First Nations, Inuit and Métis Peoples in Canada.
 


Accessing the Webinar

Zoom is used to host this webinar. Before joining, be sure to check system requirements to avoid any connection issues.

Note about internet: We suggest you DO NOT use a Wi-Fi connection to view the webinar as it can be unreliable and you may lose connectivity during the presentation.

 

Access to SAC webinars, Lunch & Learns and webcasts are an exclusive benefit of SAC membership. Links to online SAC Professional Development opportunities are not to be shared with non-members/non-associates. SAC reserves the right to terminate participation of a non-member/associate in any SAC online Professional Development event.
 
Non-members or non-associates must join SAC in order to have access to SAC online professional development. Information on joining SAC can be found on our website at
 https://www.sac-oac.ca/membership-certification/become-member-0.