Student Voice

Our members and associates are why we exist.

Our student associates are the future of our member professions and the association; so we really care what you think.

We stay plugged in to what you need from us through the Director-Student. The Director-Student is an SAC student associate who has been elected to represent student associates on the SAC Board of Directors. 

Representing the interests of student members across the country is a large task — and the Director-Student is still a student herself — so she is supported by a team of Student Reps from each school. 

As a student associate, you have the opportunity to lead the trajectory of your national professional association by running for one of these rewarding and prestigious positions. 

 

Your 2022-2023 Director-Student

Danielle Busayong (University of British Columbia)
director-student@sac-oac.ca

Danielle is a Speech-Language Pathology student at UBC. She is passionate about intersecting activism with the SLP and audiology fields to advocate for anti-ableism and anti-racism in practice. She is interested in pediatrics and speech sound disorders. Danielle runs an informational Instagram dedicated to challenging perceptions in the field (@dictionwithdani.slp). With her avid interest in intertwining activism with clinical practice, she served as a panelist for California State University Sacramento’s R.A.I.N.B.O.W. club’s event to share her perspective and experience on the growing Neurodiversity-Affirming movement. She has always been eager to be involved in her community, and established a summer language program for under-served populations at a local community centre.

 

2022-2023 Student Representatives

University of Alberta


Valentina Villamil (S-LP)
vvillami@ualberta.ca

Carole Hiew (S-LP)
ckhiew@ualberta.ca

University of
British Columbia


Elisabeth Kang (S-LP)
ehkang@student.ubc.ca

Cora Nelson (S-LP)
coramay@student.ubc.ca

Julia Trolio (Audiology)
trolioju@student.ubc.ca

Margaret Lyster (Audiology)
mlyster@student.ubc.ca

Dalhousie University


Hailey Brien (S-LP)
hl947247@dal.ca

Erica Nam (Audiology)
er713376@dal.ca


Georgian College


Julia Di Pardo (CHA)
juliadipardo@gmail.com


Laurentian University


Vickie Godin (S-LP)
vgodin@laurentian.ca

McMaster University


TBA (S-LP)

Chantelle Boyles (S-LP)
boylec1@mcmaster.ca

Université Laval


Audrey Vincent (S-LP)
audrey.vincent.1@ulaval.ca

Rose Curodeau (Audiology)
rose.curodeau.1@ulaval.ca

Université de Montréal 


Cassandra Hamel-Baz (S-LP)
cassandra.hamel-baz@umontreal.ca

McGill University


Moti Lieberman (S-LP)
moti.lieberman@mail.mcgill.ca


University of Ottawa


TBA


Université du Québec à 
Trois-Rivières


TBA

University of Toronto


Melanie Lamarca (S-LP)
melanie.lamarca@mail.utoronto.ca

Renee Dorval (S-LP)
renee.dorval@mail.utoronto.ca


Western University


Kate MacKenzie (Audiology)
kmacke53@uwo.ca